switchState acting opposite

Hi All, I am completely new to Arduino and am a complete noob.

I am using the Arduino starter kit and on the project 2, Spaceship Interface, the lights and the switch are doing the opposite of what is intended.

At the "low" state (button not pressed), output 4 and 5 blink. When the button is pressed, output 3 lights up and 4 and 5 turn off.

To correct this, I changed switchState to HIGH and it works but I want to know what I did wrong to cause this mix up. Below with the code that makes it work as intended but with the altered switchState line Thanks!

int switchState = 0;

void setup(){
pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
pinMode(4, OUTPUT);
pinMode(5, OUTPUT);
pinMode(2, INPUT);
}

void loop(){
switchState = digitalRead(2);
// this is a comment
if(switchState == HIGH) {
// the button is not pressed

digitalWrite(3, HIGH); // green LED
digitalWrite(4, LOW); // red LED
digitalWrite(5, LOW); // red LED
}

else { // the button is pressed
digitalWrite(3, LOW);
digitalWrite(4, LOW);
digitalWrite(5, HIGH);

delay(250); // wait for a quarter second
// toggle the LEDs
digitalWrite(4, HIGH);
digitalWrite(5, LOW);
delay(250); // wait for a quarter second

}
} // go back to the beginning of the loop

“ on the project 2”
Don’t know anything about project 2.

Show us a good schematic of your circuit.
Show us a good image of your wiring.
Give links to components.
Posting images:

Does the switch have a pullup or pulldown resistor so that it is in a known state when the switch is open. Do you know about the, optional, internal pullup on each digital pin enabled with the pinMode() function?

Sorry for the late reply. I had actually disconnected the wires but reconnected them and got the same result. I have included the photo.

For the Spaceship Interface project, pinMode 3 is the green LED and is on without the button pressed.