system to measure and record proximity and speed of a vehicle overtaking cyclist

Hi everyone!

I’m a final year student at my university, and for my final year project
I’ve decided to monitor the safety of vehicle overtakes on cyclists. To do
this I want to make a device which can measure the proximity of the
overtakes on the cyclist (whilst they’re cycling) and the speed of which
they overtake at.
I was hoping someone could tell me about what ultrasonic sensor is suitable
(preferably a range from 0 to about 3m), what sort of datalogger
I could use with an Arduino UNO, and some sort of system which would measure
the speed of the overtaking vehicle. I’m thinking of using 2 IR lasers (one at
the front of the bike and one at the back of the bike of a set distance)
which when triggered, would give the time between the triggers thus giving
the speed of the overtaking vehicles.

Alternatively, I also thought about using 2 ultrasonic sensors and the time between the 2 of them being tripped by the overtake could give me the speed, however since I’m a complete novice, I don’t know if an ultrasonic sensor could be used this way

I’m hoping I was clear with my message as it is quite complex and I look
forward to your replies!!

the HC-SR04 has a range of 3 to 4 metres

by sampling every 100msec you could calculate overtaking speed

a sensor on the cycle wheel could give you the speed

The Lidar-Lite will range up to 40 meters. From the change in range, you can derive the relative velocity.

You will need some other means of measuring the cyclist’s speed.

jremington:
The Lidar-Lite will range up to 40 meters. From the change in range, you can derive the relative velocity.

impressive specification! the project could carry out a comparision between the HC-SR04 and the lidar-lite in terms of cost vers range/accuracy etc