Tachometer fixer - Guidance needed

I am making a arduino Rbbb, that should fix my tachometer in my car.
I have put a 5 cyl engine in a car that normally had a 4 cyl engine.

The tacho gets its signal from the input of the ignition driver, a square-wave 5v/0v signal.

In the testing i use a UNO for making the signal.

The problem:
It preforms nicely until about 7000 Rpm., from there to about 8000 Rpm. it gets fuzzy, and when i simulate 10.000 Rpm. it just outputs 29.000 Rpm.

I am no skilled programmer, but i believe i get the basics.
But i have kinda hit a wall here, any pointers would be great. Also if i have made any "don't"s in the code.

the code:

unsigned long input_millis = 0; // time at interrupt 
unsigned long diff_millis = 0; // input cycle time
unsigned long new_millis = 0; // output cycle time (divided by 2) (pin 13)
unsigned long last_cycle = 0; // time last cycle pin change
// unsigned long lastmillis = 0; // time last updated (serial display) to be commented out 

const int OutPin =  13; // the output pin for the new signal

int OutState = LOW; // the current status of the output pin

void setup(){

pinMode(OutPin, OUTPUT); 
// Serial.begin(9600); 
 attachInterrupt(0, ign_sig, FALLING); // the input from ECU - pin 2
}

void loop(){

if(millis() - last_cycle > new_millis) {
    last_cycle = millis();   
    if (OutState == LOW)
      OutState = HIGH;
    else
      OutState = LOW;
    digitalWrite(OutPin, OutState);
  }

// if (millis() - lastmillis == 1000){
// detachInterrupt(0); //Disable interrupt when calculating
// Serial.print("input millis =\t"); 
// Serial.print(input_millis) ;
// Serial.print("\t new millis =\t"); 
// Serial.print(new_millis) ;
// Serial.print("\t diff millis =\t");  
// Serial.println(diff_millis); 
// lastmillis = millis(); // Uptade lasmillis
// attachInterrupt(0, ign_sig, FALLING); //enable interrupt
// }

}

// this code will be executed every time the interrupt 0 (pin2) gets low.
void ign_sig(){