Tactile switch - measuring contact time

Hi guys,

I'm very new to Arduino, but am very keen to learn and am hoping that people might be able to point me in the right direction.

As part of my final year university project, I'm looking to find a way to use an Arduino board to measure the duration of a switch being closed. I've been looking at a number of different ways, but none of it seems to work. I was hoping that someone might be able to point me in the right direction as to how to write some code capable of measuring this. I may have missed this, but I thought that there may be some functions available which measure contact time or something along those lines.

If anyone has any advice or potential solutions to my problem, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks!

Hi

but I thought that there may be some functions available which measure contact time

Explain this better, what you mean by contact time ?

I want the Arduino board to be able to tell me how long a switch is closed for once it has been pressed. So when the button is high, I'd like to be able to take a reading and measure time.

Use the external interrupt and the CHANGE option. When the switch is pressed record the value of micros() and also when it is released. Subtract one from the other for the duration.

HOWEVER switch contacts frequently bounce so you may not get a simple answer.

Maybe create an array to hold a succession of 8 or 16 micros() readings.

...R

I want the Arduino board to be able to tell me how long a switch is closed for once it has been pressed. So when the button is high, I’d like to be able to take a reading and measure time.

It is more simple to use these tactile buttons with INPUT_PULLUP and the pressed state will be LOW.

pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);

If your tactile button is one of the common square ones, you will wire diagonally across the switch. One lead goes to ground, the other to the input pin,