Tap tempo with midi

Hi, I've got a pressure pad (simple switch circuit) which I want to use as a tap tempo via midi. Basically whenever the circuit is closed I want to send a midi message out, which I can then midi map to the tap tempo in a DAW. I'm having 2 main problems. Firstly, the midi messages i've been getting have appeared as "invalid" on a midi monitor program i'm using (so obviously my coding is horrendous!) and secondly, I only want one midi message each time the pressure pad is pressed. At the moment it sends hundreds of messages (because of the loop) - but I cant use a delay function as I will eventually have a load of other sensors running along side which need a fast loop. Im sure theres a simple solution but I'm quite new to this and i'm learning as I go :slight_smile:

At the moment it sends hundreds of messages (because of the loop) - but I cant use a delay function as I will eventually have a load of other sensors running along side which need a fast loop. Im sure theres a simple solution

There is. You need to keep track of the previous state of the switch, and send the message only when a transition occurs - the current state is not the same as the previous state - and that transition is to pressed.

Ah brilliant! Cheers PaulS!

Any clues on how to send a simple bang message over midi? I've figured out how to send note commands/values/intensitys but not how to send a simple bang message :confused:

I don't know what a 'simple bang' message is. It's not listed in the MIDI specification that I've seen.

sorry, bang message wouldn't be its official name - im not sure of the name for the message im looking for. I've been looking at the midi specification but I cannot work out which message is the correct one. I just need to send a one byte message that I can midi map to the tap tempo of a DAW (probably ableton live).

You could probably try any of the 'undefined' message numbers.