Teaching myself electrical engineering.

Hello,

I'm a software developer with zero experience in electrical engineering and an Arduino collecting dust. My local colleges to the best of my knowledge do not offer courses in Electrical Engineering.

My first question is, what level of physics knowledge is required to design a moderately complex circuit? And second, what books or materials should I study to prime myself on the properties and interactions of the basic components? i.e. resistors, capacitors, inductors, transistors, diodes, and the like.

I'd also like a higher understanding of boolean algebra (than is generally required for software dev.), and logic design.

Keep in mind I do not have even basic knowledge. How do I start on my own?

Edit: Free materials best materials.

Given you’ve missed the boat with the MITx free online course on basic circuits this year, plunge straight into “The Art of Electronics”, Horowitz & Hill - one of best books out there and gets straight down to business unlike most textbooks.

I think you also should look up Karnaugh maps on wikipedia.

I started a year ago with no experience. Find a simple project and just really put some effort into learning how to do it. If you really care enough about it, the experience will come along with the research. Google and a few forums have been enough for me to be pretty satisfied with where I'm at and very eager to continue learning.

My first question is, what level of physics knowledge is required to design a moderately complex circuit?

I have an electrical engineering degree, and I don't think I learned anything applicable in my physics classes. If you design semiconductors, I think you need some advanced physics & chemistry.

My engineering classes required a lot of math (calculus), but in my job and as a hobbyist, basic algebra is all I ever use. If you have a C.S. degree, you've had plenty of math...