tell me where to go

Brand-spankin' newbie here. I only recently discovered Arduino. The possibilities are endless! We just signed a contract to build a new house, and I am picking out exterior lights and had been figuring the home automation and security systems I want to implement can be sorted out later. But, I hear stories of folks that have a hodge-podge of systems in their home - I want to avoid that, or at least avoid going far down a road with a platform, only to find out it is on its way out or it can't do what I, later, come to wish it could do!

I have one or two easy questions for you, but let me first share my background and then my wish list for the system.

I'm 51, so I'm sure I'm past the learning curve for much of this, but I do have an electronics background (US Army Reserve avionics) and I was a technician in the fire alarm and security systems industry for 10 years. I've forgotten 80% of that, but I understand low-voltage electronics, logic and components and I know what a soldering iron is. For reference, I've never built a PC, but I've certainly upgraded memory, harddrives and replaced more than my share of power supplies, and I always love doing that.

I don't know if most of you real coders would call this coding, but my hobby is to create and customize Outlook and Excel apps, using Visual Basic, for my use at work. I've got probably 40,000 lines of code into the apps I use. I know my way around Visual Studio. My next goal was to create iOS apps for some of these (I think that will be taking a backseat to this!)

I am still in the alarm business (project engineer/manager & sales), so I have access to wholesale level pricing for many devices, power supplies, wiring, lighting, anything electrical, Cat 6 cables, etc. etc. and even have access to the occasional IP camera "falling off a truck" as well as, I guess, entire home security systems.

Here is my wish list for the new house.