telnet client reading digital pins

I have a mega 2560 with an ethernet shield and I'm a newbie to programming it.

I have followed the telnet client example which works fine, however i want to now modify this project to monitor 10 digital pins and send the results back to the connected telnet client.

The code example below always disconnects the client as soon as the digital pin value is read and so i think i'm missing some understanding about the best/proper method to achieve this. (As the telnet example does not disconnect as it processes the user input.)

Any help would be extremely welcome!

From my understanding the code would be something like: -

IPAddress server(ipAddressOfTelnetServer);
int inputPin = 51;

void Setup(){

Ethernet.begin(mac, ipAddressOfTelnetClient);

pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);

if (client.connect(server, PORT_NUMBER)) {
Serial.println("connected");
}
else {
Serial.println("connection failed");
}

}

void loop(){

pinVal = digitalRead(inputPin);

if (client.connected()) {
// send the input pin value to the telnet client
client.print(pinVal);
}
}

// if the server's disconnected, stop the client:
if (!client.connected()) {
Serial.println();
Serial.println("disconnecting.");
client.stop();
// do nothing:
while (true);
}

So, don't disconnect and read and send the data from the other pins. Then disconnect.

The code doesn't try to disconnect and so i'm unsure what you mean by this?

The sample telnet project doesn't disconnect the client when processing and so the only line that is different in my modified project is: -

pinVal = digitalRead(inputPin);

and so i'm looking to understand why this line of code makes the telnet client disconnect and what I need to change to ensure that when the digital pins are read it doesn't disconnect the telnet client.

jclm:
The code doesn't try to disconnect and so i'm unsure what you mean by this?