Temp sensor code

Hallo

I have one of these sensor: Temp sensor

they write both: 40°C to 120°C 0°C to 150°C

In the text.

Do i wire it op to 5v and A0 or to gnd and A0?

and what would the code for this look like? they write 29150 - 1270 Ω how to convert it to degrees.

I'm pretty new to arduino. hope you can help.

/ Bruno, Denmark

and what would the code for this look like? they write 29150 - 1270 Ω how to convert it to degrees.

This looks like a thermistor--hopefully it is NTC (negative temperature coefficient) where the resistance goes down with increasing temperature. It's not clear what the resistance is at 25C and the temperature coefficient of the device from the details you posted.

Wiring and Code for reading this device can be found here in the Arduino Playground. Focus on the third example "The Elaborate Code (cleaned up a bit)". http://playground.arduino.cc/ComponentLib/Thermistor2

Do i wire it op to 5v and A0 or to gnd and A0?

The sensor will be part of a resistor divider network and the test codes referenced above are based on a wiring of the Arduino analog input between the thermistor and the reference thermistor with the thermistor connected at one end to 5v an d the reference resistor on the ground side of the divider.

(Ground) ---- (10k-Resistor) -------AnalogRead pin------- (Thermistor) ---- (+5v)

thanks...

Thermistors aren't linear so you need the Steinhart-Hart model or Beta model to convert resistance to temperature. To get the coefficients for those equations you can measure the resistance at three known temperatures. Typically you would use room temperature, ice water (0°C) and boiling water (100°C).

http://www.thinksrs.com/downloads/programs/Therm%20Calc/NTCCalibrator/NTCcalculator.htm

cattledog:
This looks like a thermistor
<…>

(Ground) ---- (10k-Resistor) -------AnalogRead pin------- (Thermistor) ---- (+5v)