temperature controlled lamp

hi, i am new to the arduino experience, but very fascinated.
i am trying to build something and i could really use some pointers.
i am trying to make an egg incubator for a friend, that is controlled via arduino.
a 12 v lamp will be used for heating, and a SHT1x sensor to monitor
temperature and humidity. a pc fan is also used for air flow.
my problem is that, after i read the temperature, i want to pwm the lamp.
if temp<37 Celsius, turn lamp even more on to heat up.
if temp>38 Celsius, turn lamp less off to cool down.
is it correct to set the lamp to half its brightness a startup,
check the temp, and then set it to higher or lower?
hope this makes sense to somebody
thanx

Makes sense to me, at least as a starting point. Depending on how noisy your temperature sensor is, you might not want to check it too often (once every 10 seconds or so?) else you might find you're "chasing your tail" and adjusting the PWM too fast.

Have you determined how you're going to switch the 12V lamp on and off? A power supply for the lamp? How much current does the lamp draw?

-- Check out our new shield: http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/html/gadget_shield.html

thanx for the input, i am still designing the project, writing the code, which helps in the design (?), i will update this post, even, have some more questions...

cheers from greece

Hi there

Funnily enough I just built a very similar thing for a friend, not for eggs, but to brew some home brew using the heat source of a light bulb.