Temperature, IR blaster, internet and light switch: Small Server room.

Hello

First off, Im brand new to the Arduino world so my apologies.

We are moving a couple of PCs to a small darj closed room with a AC unit that is controlled via remote control (IR)

Since it is closed and very small, I think it would be best to control the environment. This is where I think a Arduino board is perfect.

My idea is that the Arduino has attached a temperature sensor and a IR blaster. If it detects that the temperature inside the room reaches X degrees, it would turn on the preconfigured AC unit using the IR blaster. Once that lowers to another X degrees, it should be able to send another signal thru the IR blaster to turn off the AC unit.

Now, the reason I would like it for it to have internet access is that when these events occur, I would like to be notified via email. It would alert me when the AC is turned on, turned off, or if it was turned on but the temp keeps rising (failed AC unit or worst). Also remote access would be nice.

Also inside this room would be a IP camera. Due to it being a small dark room, I wouldn't be able to see. This is where a option to turn on/off via a digital signal the light would be nice. This way with the IP camera I can see the server room (both locally and thru WAN)

Is this small project possible? Also I would prefer to write this in Java and/or C# thru USB as they come like natural languages to me but I do understand they have a large memory overhead that a Arduino might not be able to handle

Just get the Arduino to do the basic control stuff and use java on a PC or similar to run the management of your application.

Then you have to decide how to communicate between your PC & the Arduino.

Serial/USB/wifi/bletooth/ethernet etc etc.

Try a small project first and you will quickly understand the potential....

AnalysIR: