Temperature reading from LM335A not making sense.

Hi there,

My current setup is based on http://www.oomlout.com/a/products/ardx/circ-10; the temperature reading is way off, i'm getting a reading of 365.04 degrees centigrade... :o

i'm very new at this, can anyone advise me? thanks alot in advance!

Well we know what you thought you did and that works. What we have to find out is what you actually did. I know you are going to say you did this but you wouldn't be the first to make a mistake in thinking that, it happens to us all.

So what you have to do is to do some experiments to see if everything is as it should be.
First off write a sketch that just constantly prints out the number read from the analogue input port.
Does it change when you hold the sensor between your fingers? Are the readings by an large steady?

thanks for the quick reply! so now i have stripped down the codes to a bare minimum:

//LM335A Pin Variables
int temperaturePin = 0; 

/*
 * setup() - this function runs once when you turn your Arduino on
 * We initialize the serial connection with the computer
 */
void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);  //Start the serial connection with the copmuter
                       //to view the result open the serial monitor 
                       //last button beneath the file bar (looks like a box with an antenae)
}

void loop()                     // run over and over again
{
 float temperature = analogRead(temperaturePin);
 Serial.println(temperature);                     //printing the result
 delay(1000);                                     //waiting a second
}

with this set of code, it is now reading a constant value of 850.0.
when i hold the sensor, it only goes up by +1/2, i.e. 851.0-852.0

That would seem to suggest that the sensor is not wired up correctly. I would have expected to see it move by about 10.
Check again that you have identified the pins correctly and that the power and ground as well as the signal make it back to the arduino.