Temperature sensor gives weird readings when servo motor is attached, why?

Hi everybody,

I am new to electronics and am just starting with the Arduino Starter Kit. I did the first several projects and decided to combine some of them, namely “Love-o-Meter” and “Mood Cue”. I want to set the base temperature to 27 degrees C and for every 2 degrees above that, I want the servo to move 45 degrees. The code is posted below (it’s basically a combination of the example code for the two projects).

When I uploaded the sketch to Arduino, the motor arm started moving immediately left and right. I opened the Serial Monitor and saw temperature readings varying by about 30 degrees C (24, 57, 31, 43 etc.), one after the other. I disconnected the motor, leaving only the temperature sensor and serial monitor working, and everything started working properly (constant sensor readings of about 144, volts at about 0.70 and temperature at about 20 degrees). I connected the servo motor again and the weird values started appearing again, causing the motor arm to move rapidly left and right.

I searched the forum and find several topics about similar problems and tried the proposed solutions there; I changed the analog input pin to A3 (it was at A0) – no change. Then I changed the delay at the end from 15 to 1000ms and that partially solved the problem – now I get readings at 1s intervals, which are fairly constant, but still are about 4 degrees C higher than the actual room temperature, measured when the servo is disconnected. The shorter delay I put, the weirder the readings get. It crossed my mind that the problem may be with some excess electricity in the circuit, so I put an extra capacitor alongside the temperature sensor – no change.

Can someone explain what is going on here?

Thank you in advance.

The code:

#include <Servo.h>
Servo myServo;
int angle;
const int sensorPin = A3;
const float baselineTemp = 27.0;

void setup() {
  myServo.attach(9);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}