Temperature sensor with multiple 74HC4511's and 7 segments.

Hi, I'm in the progress of making a celsius temperature sensor, with the temperature shown on the two 7-segments, the temperature sensor is a LM35, but the temperature part is not what I am going to ask about. I am totally new to arduino, so sorry for "silly" questions!

I want to make the first 7-segment write the first digit in the temperature, and the second one write the second digit in the temperature. But I can not figure out how to e.g make the first 7-segment write "2" when the temperature is 20-29, and "30" if the temperature is in the 30's.

74HC4511 datasheet: http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/IC/74HC4511.pdf

But I can not figure out how to e.g make the first 7-segment write "2" when the temperature is 20-29, and "30" if the temperature is in the 30's.

What code do you have to display [u]anything[/u] on the displays?

I left my USB in class, when playing with this arduino, so I can't give you the code right now.

but when I want to write a number like 00, or whatever.

I just use something simply like

digitalWrite(Bin1, B0);
digitalWrite(Bin2, B0);
digitalWrite(Bin3, B0);
digitalWrite(Bin4, B0);

digitalWrite(Bin5, B0);
digltalWrite(Bin6, B0);
digitalWrite(Bin7, B0);
digitalWrite(Bin8, B0);

The first four is the first segment, the next four is the second segment. What I cannot figure out how to do is make e.g the first segment write "2" if the temperature is measured 20-29.

Get the value you want and divide it by 10. That is the first digit. Then again divide by 10 but get the remainder (the % operator) and that is your second digit.

I've tried what you said, but with no luck yet. Could you possible give me an example?

Thanks in advance.

Luck does not enter into it. What you do on this forum is do what you are requested and if it dosn't work like you hoped post the code you have say what it does and what you want it to do and we go from there.