Tennis Ball Machine Mosfet control of DC Motors

Hello,

I became part owner of a 1980's tennis ball machine last year and used it for it's intended purpose - yes I like tennis! - for a few months.

Then one of the motors stopped working and on taking it apart it seemed like the control circuit for it was not working for some reason. I have ordered a replacement - or at least an equivalent - but at the same time I am dreaming of making my own control system which can be wirelessly controlled by a phone via the arduino. I can cope with the programming and wifi control (famous last words) and I've been googling the electronic side but I thought I'd post the project here for advice as I'm no electronics expert.

The current system is this. Despite me being in UK the machine basically runs on 110VAC (there is a 220 to 110 transformer).This is rectified to DC to drive the three motors. The motors are 90V, 0.3A, 1/3 HP. One is to drive the oscillation and the ball feed, the other two are to drive the rotating wheels which fire the balls out (really fast!). There are two control circuits - one is a basic speed control for the oscillation/feed, the other is slightly more complicated comprising two pots - one for the overall speed of, and another for the relative speed between the two wheels. This controls backspin, topspin and speed.
It's actually quite simple I think and this can be taken care of in software.

So basically I want to control 3 DC Motors. After research I think (tell me if I'm wrong) that I can control these using PWM and N Channel Mosfet transistors - the motors only spin one way. So I'm thinking I can convert the mains feed to 90V DC using a high quality(!) off the shelf part and then do something similar to this tutorial