Tension Sensor Selection

Hi everyone! I’m very new to arduino and have a question that someone here may be able to help with.

I study mechanical engineering and am working on a project. I’ve run into the following issue that I think someone on this sub might be able to help with:

A very thin wire (similar to fishing line) will be unwinding from a spindle in my system through use of a pull force on one end and a stepper motor on the spindle itself. Throughout this process, I will need to measure the tension on the wire continuously.

I know a tiny bit about load cells from my instrumentation design course and I know this is the route I should probably take. My dilemma is that I don’t know where to start with sensor selection or system integration with arduino. I have found a few tension sensors online that come with a load cell mounted to a few small pulleys/wheels that the wire can guide through, but they are way outside of my budget and most are too large for my application.

Has anyone worked with something similar using Arduino in the past? Any advice, would be greatly appreciated! In the meantime, the research continues.

"Measure tension on a unwinding wire" is a hopelessly vague description of the problem.

Why not post a diagram of the mechanical arrangement, with some ideas about where and how the "tension" is to be measured?