Testing a Motor Out - Help?

Hey everyone,

I'm an undergraduate research assistant, currently working on building a Static Light Scattering device (SLS).

I'm using this motor: ES030A - 30mm Brushless Rotary Motor | Stepper Motor | Pittman Motors

Anyway, I am trying to figure out if this motor is even working or not, because it's having some trouble when connected to a drive and encoder. I've tried looking up some tutorials on the internet for how to write a program and wire this up with a potentiometer to try and ascertain if this motor works or not, but I'm not really finding what I need. I should mention that I'm not terribly experienced with motors.

There are 8 wires that come out of this motor assembly - three for Phase A, B and C. There are another 3 for Hall 1-3, and two more for ground and 5V DC.

I know how to wire up ground and the 5V, but I'm having some trouble figuring out how to wire the remaining connections to the Arduino. Any suggestions? I would also like to write some basic software that will allow me to see if this works at all, not trying to get it to do anything special at the moment.

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

Jeremy

A good way to go ahead with a project is to define what actions You need. Then search for equipment that can do that, and read the data specs, application notes. Select items that You feel You understand how to work with.
Your question, sorry, sounds like randomly selecting things, or looking in the scrap bin, and then trying to make something.
Tell what You do know and how You're thinking.

Do you have the RECOMMENDED CONTROLLER?
Paul

Why do you have "Stepper Motor" in the name of that link? This isn't a stepper motor.

A 3-phase brushless motor driver is needed, one that supports Hall sensors for commutation. If you are not into designing and building your own motor driver, the recommended driver is the way to go.