Testing a servo from a crappy chinese batch made toy!

Hi everyone,
I'm a big noob at all this, but I'm learning fast :0

I have this dancing penguin xmas toy that I have taken the button cables out of and attached to an arduino with a motion sensor so when my toddler walks past it, it turns on and sings and lights up.

Now this toy is about 6 years old and USED TO dance as well but it hasn't for a year (so i didnt screw it up recently with the sensor addition).

I have taken it apart and inside is a perfboard with multiple cables, about 6 capacitors , transitors and resistors.

I have identified two cables going to the servo which have 2 x 104 ceramic capacitors and another black one (haven't checked the power of it yet).

Anyway... I would have thought just putting 5v and gnd to the two terminals on the servo should get it working... however after identifying the positve terminal.. it still doesnt work.

Short answer: Is it buggered

Longer question:
If short answer is "maybe it isn't" - how can i test this to see if the servo itself it working.
If it is, then i might look at the circuit. If you think it isn't... then I'll just give up and keep then singing and LED's working and forget the rest.

Thanks for any advice.

I think some pictures would help us help you.

What makes you think you have a servo? Servos generally have more than 2 wires.

Steve

lkol theres my noobness coming out. ill post a pic :slight_smile: thanks guys
(and as a note - don't waste too much time on this, if its possible to test/fix i will, but its more of a learning experience.)

So In one pic u can see the purple cable has come off.
That just happened somehow but it looked firmly connected before. That connects to a point just near where the red power goes in (positive to the “servo” thing)

Learn how to include pictures:

lols, thanks.
TBH i actually did look but could only find the attach section and the "add image" only allowed a URL.
How do i add them?