The accursed string

Although I started programming in 1962 (FORTRAN), and have been programming ever since, I never learned C until I wanted to use Arduinos. and mostly, I've learned it incrementally, picking up new parts as needed. My impression of C, overall, is that it is a very crude language, and somehow represented a devolution from much better languages that preceded it (Pascal, Modula 2). It caught on because it was bundled with Unix, which in the early days was pretty much the only game in town.

But I'm not actually posting this to start a fight. My problem is with the concept of string in C as an array of characters. The String object has many functions devoted to its manipulation, while the string, in Arduino reference, has almost none. I use Strings almost exclusively, but every now and again I find a library that wants strings.

So at the moment I am trying to create a convert_String function which accepts a String, and outputs a string. That's easy enough in concept, but I don't know how to declare a function of type string. Do have to make it a pointer to char?

Why duplicate toCharArray()?

The String object has many functions devoted to its manipulation, while the string, in Arduino reference, has almost none.

That is nonsense. There are many, many functions that can deal with strings (NULL-terminated arrays of chars) - strcat(), strcmp(), strstr(), strtok(), to name just a few. EVERYTHING that the String class can do is done using the internal string and the string functions.

jrdoner:
The String object has many functions devoted to its manipulation, while the string, in Arduino reference, has almost none.

You should look in a different place http://www.atmel.com/webdoc/AVRLibcReferenceManual/group__avr__string.html