The beginning

Hi,

Second attempt. Last one didn't post.

I'm a beginner at arduino-ing. Id love your input on a project id like to start. My dog can talk with buttons. I would love to track the buttons that she pushes but i do not want to ruin the buttons that we have. They are pretty expensive.
Is it even possible and how would you add hardware to the button without destroying it?

Some pictures attached.

Edit: Uploading went wrong. Trying to upload a picture of the inside of the buttons but it won't.. I'll try again later.

Save those buttons for the future and get stuff more ready to use. I suggest membrane type switches having a membrane wide enough for "dog hands".

What do you mean with save them for the future?

My dog is used to these buttons and communicates well with them. Id love to add to this system instead of creating a new one

Okey, Your dog is used to them, no trying to eat them, only press them.
What would destroy the buttons in Your opinion?

Ah i get the confusion! I mean that, by adding something im afraid that i would break something. Since they aren't build for it. I want to track each button press but i wouldnt know where to start.

If you want to see the board in action. Either one of these platforms will do
https://instagram.com/koning.silke

What is the "something" that can be broken? Broken by what?
I don't use those platforms. Post the essential info here.

Post some engineering usable information, not emotions.

By something i mean the electronics already in the button by adding onto it. Ignore the emotions about being afraid to break something. Thats simply an explanation why im here for help.

I'm wondering how I can track the button presses. Can I simply connect an arduino to the buttons? And how should I do that.

Post a link to those buttons. Electronics inside a button.... Not everyday stuff here.