Thermistor and Stepper motor

Hey I am new at Arduino and had afew questions about it. First, i have a Thermistor i tore out of an old electronic thermometer, i know no details about it but i can see that its resistance changes depending on temperature on a multimeter, i just cant get arduino analog in to recognize it. Also I have afew stepper motors i got out of an old dot matrix printer. I was looking at ladyada's motor driver that can handle 2 steppers but i was interested in running 3 or 4 off the same arduino, would this need another micro controller (like a pic+motor driver) with more analog outputs to send serial commands to from the arduino? Also What is the diffrence between a transistor and a relay? Thanks alot mool

A transistor is made of silicon, while relays are mechanical devices.

The motor shield can only do 2 steppers, as you've said. If you wanted to do 3 or 4, you probably can with the Arduino since the motor shield has a separate power source AFAIK, but you'd have to do it yourself. You can take a look at ladyada's schematic, and figure out how to get more i/o to accommodate your extra steppers.

And for your thermistor... to "calibrate" it so you can get the temperature in Arduino sketches, you need to get its resistance at at least two known temperatures, and then using those points, you can guesstimate in your code. More points may be helpful, in case the resistance doesn't increase in a linear fashion.

Anyway. Hope that helps. (:

A transistor is made of silicon, while relays are mechanical devices.

The motor shield can only do 2 steppers, as you've said. If you wanted to do 3 or 4, you probably can with the Arduino since the motor shield has a separate power source AFAIK, but you'd have to do it yourself. You can take a look at ladyada's schematic, and figure out how to get more i/o to accommodate your extra steppers.