Thermocontroller TMP102 Syntax

Hi folks.

Just received my TMP102 and have no clue how to go about reading it.

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9418

Not too sure what to do here. I have 3.3V and GROUND hooked up, but don't know the pinouts. Says a 2 wire serial configuration, so I am guessing the 2 pins on the small side.

I've found no code, don't know how to approach this (I'm a beginner).

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers

It’s an I2C device :wink: so good luck :slight_smile:
This is not the easyest way to get temperature data (Two-wire serial interface)

You have to read arduino tutorials on I2C a.k.a. two wire serial.
start by using wire.h at the top of the sketch

I googled around and found this code:

// ARDUINO CODE

#include <wire.h> 

int led = 2;

int ptrTemp =  0b00000000;         // TMP102 register pointers
int ptrConf =  0b00000001;
int ptrTLow =  0b00000010;
int ptrTHigh = 0b00000011;
int i2cAddr;                        // used to set address on the chip 

void setup()
{
  pinMode(led,OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();                     // join i2c bus (address optional for master)
  i2cAddr = 0b1001001;              // ADD0 pin connection selects one of four possible addresses
}

void loop()
{  
//  REQUESTING TEMPERATURES
 /*  TEMPERATURE REGISTER 
 */
  Wire.beginTransmission(i2cAddr);  // select temperature register
  Wire.send(ptrTemp);               // (if only temperature is needed this can
  Wire.endTransmission();           // be done once in setup() )

Wire.requestFrom(i2cAddr, 2);     // request temperature
  byte byte1 = Wire.receive();
  byte byte2 = Wire.receive();    

/*  T_LOW REGISTER 
 */
  Wire.send(ptrTLow);
  Wire.send(24);  // (if only temperature is needed this can

byte lowbyte1 = Wire.receive();
  byte lowbyte2 = Wire.receive();    

/*  T_High REGISTER 
 */
  Wire.send(ptrTHigh);  
  Wire.send(28);    // (if only temperature is needed this can

byte hibyte1 = Wire.receive();