Thermoluminescence device - general planning.

Hello everybody,

Let's start with a quick introduction: I am a chemist currently doing a PhD in biophysics. So we have this old broken Thermoluminescence device that came from some arctic biology ship expedition thing (in the 70s from the looks of it). However it is not working anymore. Buying a new one is not an option as there are only one or two companies making them and these don't have the specs needed for the science we would be doing on it. Basically all TL-Devices used in the Field where built by one guy that now has pretty much retired... (Also its more of a side project to my PhD so buying a 20000£ thing is not gonna happen)
So what I want to do is build a new one using some of the old parts we have, some new stuff and naturally an arduino.
As up to now the only thing I can do with an arduino is make some led's flash, and I am also not very good at electronics yet. However I can solder stuff and with some help I think I can put together all the stuff thats needed.
I won't bother you too much with the science of it, but just a short description of what the TL device will have to do in the end. With thermoluminescence you take a sample and heat it while watching for the light it emits in dependence of the temperature. In biology you do that with leaves or cyanobacteria for example and it gives you information about Photosynthesis and energylevels and populations and so on.