This seems so simple...? XBee code question

Hello,

This seems like a simple thing. I have two XBees, two XBee explorers and two Arduino Unos. When a button is pushed, connecting pin 8 to ground, that XBee is supposed to send "333" to the other. I'm a newbie, can anyone check over the code?

/*
When a button is pushed, send "333" from one XBee to the other
*/

#define SENSOR_PIN 8
//Pins 0/1 are used for serial.

void setup(){
    pinMode(SENSOR_PIN, INPUT);
        digitalWrite(SENSOR_PIN, HIGH); //turn on internal 20 k pullup resistor so the open input state is HIGH.
        Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
    if(digitalRead(SENSOR_PIN == LOW)) //read switch input
        Serial.print("333");
}

Your code should be like this...

if(digitalRead(SENSOR_PIN) == LOW) //read switch input

Hi,

When I tried it that way, I got this error:

BRAIN:14: error: expected `)' before 'Serial'

When I enter it the previous way, with the double bracket, I don't get the error message.

Then you are doing something else wrong.

The code posted by bubulindo is both valid and the correct way to perform the if-statement. When you added the ")" after SENSOR_PIN, did you remember to remove the ")" from the end of the line?

Your code of:

if(digitalRead(SENSOR_PIN == LOW))

evaluates to:

if (digitalRead(8 == 0)) if (digitalRead(FALSE)) which is also: if (digitalRead(0))

In C the comparison occurs first, then that is evaluated to a 0, meaning if the code actually runs it is probably reading Pin 0, not Pin 8.

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. I do really appreciate it. When I use the code below, it does work, but it just sends a steady stream of 33333333333 etc. So there is definitely something else wrong then.

/*
When a button is pushed, send "333" from one XBee to the other
*/

#define SENSOR_PIN 8
//Pins 0/1 are used for serial.

void setup(){
        digitalWrite(SENSOR_PIN, HIGH); //turn on internal 20 k pullup resistor so the open input state is HIGH.