Thoughts on Electrical Engineering Design Services?

Hey all! :)

I had an idea while at work today and was curious what all of you in the DIY Arduino community thought of it! I know a lot of people love using the Arduino and all of its derivatives. My guess is that there are people out there who really want to design a new board/shield/prototype or some type of device that they can use, but simply don't have the skills necessary to do it.

My idea is to sell electrical engineering designing services on a whole host of levels (schematic/PCB/simulation/build & test/debugging/programming) for an extremely affordable price. I am thinking something like a low flat rate price per design, regardless of number of hours worked, depending on complexity and what the customer is looking for. Usually services like these would be outrageously expensive due to their technical nature, however I am not looking to make money per say. I have an EE degree, am an avid DIY guy, have all the skill sets mentioned above, and am one of those kinds of people who really loves learning. This would be something that I could do in my free time as a way to earn a little extra spending cash on the side and also really help out some other Arduino fans on their designs without breaking the bank.

Again, this isn't a business per say, so I am not looking to charge ridiculous amounts. The point is to make higher end EE knowledge available to the general public and thus empower them to build more cool stuff! But as the saying goes, if you are good at something, never do it for free :)

What do you all think? Would you go for it if something like this was available and you needed your idea built?

1.) If you are 'doing the work for them'... your not really making higher end EE [u]knowledge[/u] available to the general public. (just purchasable....right?)