Three 3w lights - power supply?

Alright so I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to circuts and arduino, but I'm planning on hooking up three 3w lights up and I'm wondering about a powersupply to use.

The Specs of the lights:

Forward Voltage: 3.2-3.8V Forward Current: 750mA

So what kind of power supply should I use? (Also if someone could tell me the formula they used to figure it out so I know for future refrence)

Also the transistors for the lights I'm going to use are the TIP120's (Does that sound fine? or do you have a better reccommendation?)

Thanks.

Leds have to be driven by a constant current source. This can be as simple as a series resistor but that gives you low efficency and is mostly suitable for low power leds for indication purposes and currents of about 20mA. For high power/high current leds as those you describe a switching current source is recommened. Google arduino high current led

Yea, I plan on setting up something like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AePn1gAd5gc

But see how the power supply is hooked on the lower left corner of the bread board? I'm trying to figure out the type of power supply i would need there.

Thanks.

The tip120 would give a voltage drop of about 1.4v So if you just use a 5v wall wart you wouldn't even need any series resistor.

So I want to individually control each 3w LED, so from other videos I’ve seen they have 1 transistor per 3W LED. So are you saying a 5v ~2a would fully light up all the leds? (sorry if that made no sense I’m trying)

dogrin17: So I want to individually control each 3w LED, so from other videos I've seen they have 1 transistor per 3W LED. So are you saying a 5v ~2a would fully light up all the leds? (sorry if that made no sense I'm trying)

3 x 750ma=2.25 A so it would get pretty close.

I believe this is what the guy in the video has done. That is not the proper way to do it, he is relying on the inner resistance of the circuit to limit the current