Three Sketches into One - No Worky

Greetings one and all. I am somewhat new to Arduino. I have dabbled with C/C++ a little, but I am by no means a skilled C++ programmer by any measure. But recently, I began fiddling around with an Arduino Uno, SD Card Shield, 16x2 Serial LCD, and a Real Time Clock (RTC) Module.

I was able to get each component’s sketch; i.e., SD Card Shield, 16x2 Serial LCD, and RTC Module, working properly as individual things, but when I attempted to integrate all three into one sketch I was not successful. I likely have a few to several silly mistakes in the sketch that is hanging it up. Here’s what it’s suppose to do.

Press one of two buttons and one of two LEDs will flash a few times. Then the LCD will get updated with text depending on which button was pressed, then the date/time will get logged to the CD card with a couple details appended to each data/time entry. When the logging event happens another LED flashes to indicate writing. Ultimately, this is a data logger that will record how many people or calls a person gets over time. Later the SD card can be removed and its data examined by importing it into Excel.

I have been trying to figure out the issue with the sketch for two days. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The sketch is attached.

Phone-Person_20151221.ino (9.2 KB)

that is hanging it up.

Any more specific clues? How do you know it is hanging up?

• There are a bunch of delay()s in the program that can be an issue if you expect real time response, or not if you don’t.
  • You are looking for the level in the switch (ie, ON) rather than a transition tat tells you that the switch has transitioned (ie, from OFF to ON).
  • If you are not using code that is commented out, then remove it as it makes it more confusing for others who are not familiar with it.