Time and Chronos : I cant even compile the example sketches!

If this is the wrong section of the forum my apologies. I am struggling to categorise my question being an almost complete newbie to Arduino coding!

I have had limited success in the past and got to the point in the end where I was able to use an Arduino Due to multiplex two serial text string inputs, concatenate them and output them to third serial output as a single string

I now need to modify part of one of the strings - actually a date that needs to have 1024 weeks added to it to produce revised date

A search led me to two libraries: Time and Chronos

I have downloaded both libraries. The Time library required me to to also install Teensyduino in order to download the library. The Teensyduino required me to upgrade my Arduino version from 1.6.12 to 1.8.9

Having done all that I loaded one (well actually each in turn, or the four) sample sketches from Chronos and none will compile.

I simply have no idea where I am going wrong and the error messages are meaningless to me

Can anyone give me a clue? Theres no point me starting to try and code my own sketch if the samples will not compile and run!

Is it a board issue? Do I have to use a different board than a Due?

The original modified sketch still complies without problem.

Error messages from attempted compilation follow:-

In file included from /Users/graeme/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Chronos-1.2.0/src/chronosinc/DateTime.h:34:0,
                 from /Users/graeme/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Chronos-1.2.0/src/Chronos.h:79,
                 from /Users/graeme/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Chronos-1.2.0/examples/TestPerf/TestPerf.ino:48:
/Users/graeme/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Chronos-1.2.0/src/chronosinc/../chronosinc/timeTypes.h:46:9: error: 'tmElements_t' does not name a type
 typedef tmElements_t TimeElements;
         ^
In file included from /Users/graeme/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Chronos-1.2.0/src/Chronos.h:79:0,