Time Check

HI, im new to using an Arduino. I'm looking into making an "smart garden" with an Arduino Uno. A project that checks soil moisture and turns on LED lights.

At specific times I want to turn on the LED's and check the soil, can I do this without buying an RTC or Wifi adapter?

I want to keep as many pins free as I can to add more sensors later on, i.e temperature, fan, heaters + more LED's, moisture sensors.

I've looked into the blink without delay example but couldn't work out how to make this work like a 24 hour loop?

any advice would be appreciated.
:confused: :confused:

I've looked into the blink without delay example but couldn't work out how to make this work like a 24 hour loop?

Post what you tried, and we can help you with that.

Joebrock:
I want to keep as many pins free as I can to add more sensors later on, i.e temperature, fan, heaters + more LED's, moisture sensors.

The RTC will connect to A4 and A5. You can also connect a number of "port expanders" which add eight or sixteen I/O pins each to the same pins if you needed them, so it makes little sense to try and not use a RTC which is essential if you really want the times to be accurate.

You may be able to keep some modest accuracy of daily event times by tweaking the code and using a daylight sensor to synchronise it (within an hour or so) over the longer term.

Use a RTC -that will be much easier than trying to tune the time using other methods and your code will be much easier to write. I had a project some time back on a processor that did not have a time base as such so I had to fine tune a time base and the fine tuning was a pain - in your case you are looking for a 24 hour time - so you will need to watch the time base run for probably 24 hours to see how accurate it is - then tweak it and watch for 24 hours then repeat - not something I would want to do