Time Library

Hi Folks! First of all I am very new to Arduino and C/C++. I have a short question. I got the Time library from here http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/Time.

I want to make a Method(I am a Java Guy) which generates a new String where the current Time is stored and seperated with ":" with the 3 Functions hour(), minute() and second(). Which Data Type do I need? And is it possible to Seperate them with a ":" ?

Regards Luke

Which Data Type do I need?

For input or output?

which generates a new String

Pretty much defines what the output type should be.

with the 3 Functions hour(), minute() and second()

You should look at the documentation for the Time library to see what types these functions return. Hint: its int.

And is it possible to Seperate them with a ":" ?

Sure.

Be careful trying to return a String instance from a function, though, You are generally a lot better of passing the object to store the data in as a reference argument.

void makeTimeString(int hour, int minute, int second, String &timeString)
{
   timeString = String(hour) + ":" + String(minute) + ":" + String(second);
}

Why do you want the time as a String? Strings are not well suited to the Arduino. A char array would, in my opinion, be a much better choice.

void makeTimeString(int hour, int minute, int second, char *timeString)
{
   sprintf(timeString, "%2d:%02d:%02d", hour, minute, second);
}

void setup()
{
  char timeString[20];
  makeTimeString(9,5,7,timeString);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println(timeString);
}

void loop()
{
}

Thank you so much! Works like a charm! The char array did not cross my mind. The next Question I have is , how can I actually get Time from the Function? I set the Time Once in the Setu Loop but how can I get the passed Time Since I set it up?