Timelock

I’m fairly new to programming and know this is a simple code to write, but I’m having problems. I’m trying to make a box with a lock actuated with a servo motor. I want to be able to have the servo start at 90 degrees and then go to 180 degrees then stay there for an amount of time I can change by editing a delay(x) then return to 90 and then never repeat. I know this program does not work, but I want to prove how much help I need XD. I tried just editing the knob program and replace the pot inputs with set variables without luck

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;

int val; // variable to read the value from the analog pin

void setup()
{
myservo.attach(9); // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

void loop()
{
val = analogRead(512);
myservo.write(val);
delay(15);

val = analogRead(1023);
myservo.write(val);
delay(15);

delay(x);

val = analogRead(512);
myservo.write(val);
delay(15);
}

The syntax for analogRead is val = analogRead(pin); I don't think your Arduino has a pin 512 or 1023. Servo.write will take values 0-180 (degrees) or around 1000-2000 (microseconds). Your delays are way too short. 15 milliseconds will not be enough time for any movement. A lot of hobby servos have a spec of around 200 milliseconds to go 60 degrees.

Would this be a good fix? Also what can I add at the end of the void loop to indicate that I don’t want the program to continue any more after the servo returns to the 90 degree mark?

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;

void setup()
{
myservo.attach(9);
}

void loop()
{
myservo.write(90);
delay(300);

myservo.write(180);
delay(300);

delay(x);

myservo.write(90);
delay(300);
}

That makes more sense and with the value of x in delay(x) defined should compile. If you want the code to only run once, put the code in setup() and leave loop() empty ( void loop() {}). Or at the end of loop() put while(1); which is an endless loop.

Thank you :smiley:

You are welcome. If you need more help we will be here.