Timer 2 ?

Hi I am still very new with Arduino and need help with my project

I need to build a clock that will count down , in seconds from 5mins to 0 mins and then imediately count up again from 0 mins to about 90 minutes, It will output the time on to a 4 X 7 segment display . At intervals during the count I need an output to a warning buzzer,

I believe I can manage the code for the output to the buzzer and can code to count and display the time on the display but up till now ( on pic chips) any counting I did I always did with pauses such as

Let X=0 // Start with empty variable Loop: // Start of loop pause (1000) // 1 second pause increment X // Variable increases by 1 goto loop // Repeat the loop

But of course that ties up the proccesor all the time.

I am guessing my best bet is an interupt that will count away un-noticed in the back ground while the rest of the program continues outputting to the buzzer and 7 seg displays. Then once per second the interrupt trips to let the code increment or decrement the clock.

I have tried to find out for myself how to do it by reading all I could find in tutorials , and I think that Timer2 is what I need to use but I just dont know how.

Could some one help me out please

P.S. I have a duemilanove328 so need to code for that

Thank you Don

You don't need a separate timer at all. The millis() function returns the time since the Arduino was reset. Call it, and record the time. Periodically, call it again, and compare the current time against the stored time. If the interval is greater than one second (1000 milliseconds), do something, like increment a counter. Otherwise do nothing.

Hi and thanks for the reply

However , wont that be un inaccurate ?

if I call the millis() function at less than 1 second intervals I am calling on the proccessor more often than I need to which is wasting proccessing time . If I call it at greater than 1 second intervals then the clock will update late .