Timer Interrupt and Serial conflict?

Hello everybody!
I am new to Arduino so I am sorry if I ask something it may be obvious to you.
I have an Arduino Due and I need to read a weight sensor at a fix cycle time (10ms).
I used an interrupt declared in the setup as you see below to call the ReadWeight function (that takes A2 and A3 pins to get the value. The library came with the sensor module.)
I also want to "feel" commands given on the serial (convert a string to a float for calibrating the weight).
The problem is that the serial seems not to work in this way (feel nothing), while if I give up to the interrupt and I put the call to ReadWeight function in the Loop section with a delay(1000) it works.
My question is: is there any "conflict" between the timer interrupt and the Serial.Available()-Serial.read() instructions?
Maybe 10ms is too short or I am doing something wrong, I don't know.
Please help me
Many thanks

void ReadWeight(){
float MyWeight=scale.getGram(); //function coming from an external module
}

String inString = "";

Setup section

Serial.begin(9600);
Timer3.attachInterrupt(ReadWeight);
Timer3.start(10000); // Calls every 10ms

Loop section

float MyValue;
char floatbuf[10];

while (Serial.available() > 0) {
int inChar = Serial.read();
if ((isDigit(inChar)) || (((char)inChar)=='.')) {
// convert the incoming byte to a char
// and add it to the string:
inString += (char)inChar;
}
if (inChar == '\r') {
Serial.print("value:");
inString.toCharArray(floatbuf,sizeof(floatbuf));
MyValue=atof(floatbuf);
Serial.println(MyValue);
inString = "";
}
}
// ReadWeight();
// delay(1000);

You can't use ANY interrupt driven functions from within an ISR, This includes Serial and analogRead().

Mark

thank you Mark.
Assuming that I must keep alive the timer interrupt in order to have high time accuracy (I really need it), how can I "interact" with Arduino if the Serial does not work? I was thinking to write a simple VB program as interface... Any suggestions?
Thank you