Timing issue with Arduino Uno board

Hello all,
I’m new to the world of Arduino, and I would like to submit the following simple issue.

The goal is to manage an SPI communication between Arduino Uno (16MHz) and an energy metering IC (MCP3909). Whit this in mind I have wrote the snippet of code attached in the end of the message.

Things work as they should, but with a DSO and digital probes I realized that signal level changes at the digital pins of Arduino are executed with relevant delay. For example, in correspondence of the series of instructions:

digitalWrite(mclr, HIGH); //Disable mclr for MCP3909
digitalWrite(cs, LOW); //Enable chip select

we can see cs line (pin 10) change after 5micro-second after the low-to-high transition of the mclr line (pin 9), although the two instructions are in sequence.

So, why there is such significant delay in the execution of signal level change in Arduino?
There is a way to make Arduino Uno more reactive to these instructions? For example inserting assembly instructions in the code?

In subsequent steps of the project timing will get critical so the more deterministic and reactive is the behavior of the board the easier would be to manage the system.

The screen shoots of the oscilloscope relevant to the initialization of MCP3909 are attached, and delays pointed out.

Thanks a lot for the help.

Regards,
Tommaso

#define dout 11 // Data out pin
#define din 12 // Data in pin
#define sclk 13 // SPI clock pin
#define cs 10 // Chip select pin
#define mclr 9 // MCLR of MCP3909

void setup() {

//Start serial USART communication
Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(dout, OUTPUT);
pinMode(din, INPUT);
pinMode(sclk, OUTPUT);
pinMode(mclr, OUTPUT);
pinMode(cs, OUTPUT);

SPI.begin();

digitalWrite(mclr, LOW); // Hold cleared MCP3909
digitalWrite(cs, HIGH); // Disable slave device
delayMicroseconds(10);

//MSB transmitted first
SPI.setBitOrder(MSBFIRST);
//Set SPI clock to 16MHz/8
SPI.setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV4);
//Set SPI_MODE1