Tiny garden sensors/board - New to IoT

Hi all,

I am very very very new to the IoT. Let alone experienced tinkering with electronics. So will need a lot of time, thinking and making mistakes. In other words, bear with me. I would prefer a build with a solid user base, but also proved and tested. Arduino seems to fit that bill.

I would like to make a portable and very small board with sensors for humidity, gas, temperature and pressure (cf. weight). It would be battery powered, and all should fit in a cylinder of length 65mm/2,5'' (or slightly larger) and diameter less then 25mm/1''. Goal is to connect with an android app and iPhone over BLE (or other protocols, suggestions are welcome).
Will be used in a small glass house to trigger events (aka open a window).

I assume (and this is where I might be mistaken) that for it to work I need a board with BLE built in, sensors and an app reading in the data from the BLE (do smartphone connect with BLE?). But you see them come and go. If so, would there be a 'safe' bet on what brand to choose?

Would it also be right to assume that there are some boards that would be able to send over the data recorded by these sensors? I don't need it to do anything else then sending data, for I would prefer the app to simply read in the temp, humidity... and then act upon these. Or would there even be sensors which can send over data 'directly' to the smartphone? Btw, it has to be wireless.

In other words:

1. are there any boards I should take a look at?
  2. can such a board send data over to a smartphone?

Or to conclude: would be very grateful if one could point me to a direction so I can purchase the sensors and boards, so I can start working on the project (which will take ages).

Cheers.