Tinyduino with MAX7219

I'm looking at doing a portable (battery powered) Tinyduino with 4x MAX7219's LED arrays cascaded. I'm new to all of this, and haven't done the math on the current draw of the 4x MAX7219 w/LED's yet. But I would like to know the best way to supply the power to them? I'd like to use the lithium ion that you can buy from Tinycircuits. But I don't think the 5V or Vcc from the Tinyduino supplies enough power for this. I assume I would need to have some sort of boost converter circuit to get to 5VDC. Can someone direct me on this?

Also, are the Tinydiuno I/O lines 5VDC or 3.3VDC? i.e. will I need some sort of voltage level converter to drive the I/O lines to the MAX7219?

If there is something better out there than the Tinydiuno and how I'm trying to do that, I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance for the help.

ok. so did some digging, thinking of using the lithium battery that i can get from tinycircuits, for reference here is a link:

lithium battery

and use this wye connector:

splitter

and this boost board:

boost board

this allows me to supply power directly to the MAX boards and to the tinydiuno.

The only question (unless someone tells me the above plan is a bad idea or they have a better one, which I'm really open to) I have left is, if I supply the tinyduino with the 3.7V lithium battery, what is the voltage level of the I/O lines from the tinydiuno, i.e. do I need a voltage level converter like this:

voltage level converter board

I dont know anything about this 'Tinyduino' you refer too.. and you didnt provide any links for anyone.. so you can figure out the working voltage..etc.

I also think some research on the MAX chips will really help you understand some of your other questions as well..

The MAX chips multi-plex.. so that means the leds are not all on at the same time (even though your eyes cant tell the difference).. it basically turns on/off the led(s) so fast you think the leds are all on at the same time.