Tips or Alternatives

Hello all,

I am hoping that I can get some good replies as this code is very simple.

A little background, I am a university student using arduino UNO's for a project. This is the first code I have personally ever came up with and was pleased that it worked.

I was directed to control an LED (brightness) using a variable resistor (potentiometer) and after looking at some example code for LED's and POT's I came up with this:

/* LED Brightness control 

Aim: To control brightness of an LED using PWM output, and input from a Potentiometer

*/

int ledPin = 9;          // set the led pin to pin 9
int sensorPin = A0;      // set sensor input to pin A0
int sensorValue = 0;     // variable to store the sensor value

void setup() {
  // set the led pin as an output
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  // read the sensor input and store it
  sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin);
  // convert what is read to a new scale for PWM output
  float output = sensorValue * (255.0/1023.0);
  // write the output to the LED
  analogWrite(ledPin, output);
  // delay to see the effect, might remove this later
  delay(20);
}

It works which is good, but I was hoping people could give me some points of improvement to make the code leaner and more efficient and hence if anyone has an alternative way of doing this I would love to hear your thoughts.

So fire away,

Regards Peter

Your sketch will compile to a smaller binary if you do the sensor scaling without floating point, using just integer arithmetic instead:

void loop() {
  analogWrite(ledPin, analogRead(sensorPin) >> 2);
  delay(20);
}

Why a 20 mS delay? What useful purpose does it serve and have you read and unerstood the bilnk without delay sketch. A delay for viewing the data isn't necessary, you can change the displayed data when ever you choose... thus leaving time for other tasks?, Perhaps...

Bob

float output = sensorValue * (255.0/1023.0);
  // write the output to the LED