TMP-36 Strange Temperature Reading - Arduino Uno R3

Hi!

I am a newbie in the Arduino Community. I am trying to build a room temperature sensor circuit using the TMP-36GZ sensor. However, it keeps giving me the incorrect temperature (~250 deg C).

Would you mind helping me figure out which part of my setup is incorrect?

This is my code (I got it online):

#define aref_voltage 3.3
int tempPin = 1;
int tempReading;

void setup(void) {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  analogReference(3.3);
}

void loop(void) {
  tempReading = analogRead(tempPin);

Serial.print("Temp reading = ");
  Serial.print(tempReading);

float voltage=tempReading*aref_voltage;
  voltage /= 1024.0;

Serial.print(" - ");
  Serial.print(voltage);Serial.println(" volts");

float temperatureC = (voltage - 0.5)*100;
  Serial.print(temperatureC);Serial.println(" degrees C");

delay(500);
}

I am using the 3.3V power source from the arduino, and a Capacitor 224 near the sensor (the yellow thing).

I also attached my setup and the output reading in this post.

Thank you!

The function analogReference() does not take a floating point literal as argument but a label that is converted to an integer. In your code the "3.3" literal would be converted to 3, an this may result in setting the voltage reference to the INTERNAL one of 1.1 V. The default setting would connect the reference to the 5V power supply of the microcontroller:

analogReference(DEFAULT)

To use the 3.3V as reference for the analog to digital converter you would have to tie the 3.3V pin to the AREF pin and use:

analogReference(EXTERNAL)

Try this.
Leo…

// TMP36 temp sensor output connected to analogue input A0
unsigned int total = 0; // A/D readings
float tempC; // Celcius
float tempF; // Fahrenheit

void setup() {
  analogReference(INTERNAL); // use the internal ~1.1volt reference | change to (INTERNAL1V1) for a Mega
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // read the sensor