TMP36 temp sensor with an LED

So, I’m just learning about electronics and the Arduino Uno and I’ve run into something that has me puzzled. I’ve set up a simple circuit which reads input from a TMP36 sensor. My sketch converts this input voltage to a temperature value. I have this working fine and the temperature readings are stable and accurate enough for my educational purposes. Next I added an LED to the circuit and programmed it to turn on when the temperature reading falls below a given threshold value. This works fine too, sort of… I’ve noticed that when when LED is turned on, the reading from the TMP rises about 3 or 4 degrees F. When the LED is turned back off, the temperature drops back down to where it was and remains stable again. Can anyone explain to me what is happening to the TMP36 when the LED is turned on and off? If so, what can I do to prevent this at the hardware level?

Thanks.

Please supply the code and a clear circuit of how you have wired the project.

Weedpharma

read this article: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=14332
You should add some delay betwen ADC readings to give time for the arduino switch ADC ports.

I'm also having some bad reading when hooking TMP36 with other sensors, if i use it alone, readings are more stable. Im my case adding delays didn't improve.

Did more tests and found that if i power TMP36 with 3,3V, readings are more stable than power it with 5V.

Thanks for the replies. I'm in the process of learning how to use the codepen.io website to simulate my circuits, so once I have that figured out I think it will be easier for me to attach an image of what I am doing with the hardware.

I have done a couple of additional experiments to figure this out. My lack of electronics knowledge is really a hindrance, but I think I'm starting to understand a bit.