TMRPCM WAV file player noisy sound before and after playing a wav file

Hello,

I am new to using Arduino. Using the TMRPCM library module found at https://github.com/TMRh20/TMRpcm to play a series of wav files. This works quite well and appears to be an amazing piece of programming.

The issue is that there is a loud crackle or pop sound immediately before and after playing each wav file and I can't figure out how to get rid of this sound. It seems that you would need to change the TMRPCM software or somehow mute the sound at the start and end of each wav played. But I don't have enough programming experience to understand how this player works or how to implement this.

Has anyone else seen this issue and how are you getting around it?

Thank you regards Simon

What hardware are you using, how is it wired up? This may not be a software problem! Is the noise problem just before you start playing wav file or do you have noise when you are not playing a file. Try a delay(5000) in your code just before you start to play the file. Is there noise during the delay?

Post your whole code!

Mark

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your quick reply, much appreciated. I’m using a UNO with 328 ATMega. There is no noise when the .WAV file is not playing and there is virtually no noise when it is playing. The issue is that right before each file starts to play and right after it finishes playing there is a lot pop/crack/clunk sound when the TMRpcm play command is issued and then again right after it is finished playing the file. (Which makes me suspect the TMRpcm file)

I have tried your suggestion of putting a delay in but it makes no difference.

The project accesses a series of .WAV files on an SD Card and plays them one after another when pin 2 of the UNO is pulled high. Project first plays two door bell chimes just to conform that it is up and running and able to access the SD card and play a .WAV.