To measure circumference

Refer the attached image,this is i want to do,measuring circumference of large shell.
For calculating this, im going to fix a sensor stationary and rotating shell, in this the sensor points from position say P0,now the shell rotates P0,P1,P2,sensor keeps tracking…After attaining the initial P0,the sensor stops,length is measured is that the circumference.
is this concept possible to implement?
i am new to arduino…kindly help.
is there any other method to calculate circumference of a big size shell?

Circumference-01.jpg

Unless you know that the tube, of whatever size it is, has completed a full rotation, and only one rotation, the time between the measurements will be useless information.

If the tube has a known diameter, the circumference is known. If the tube does not have a known diameter, but you know the circumference, based on knowing how fast the tube was rotating and how long it took to make one revolution, you can calculate the diameter.

It is not clear exactly what you are measuring and what you are trying to calculate.

Use a tape measure?

i want a system which calculates circumference of large size circular/elliptical object.

How it can be automized?

Do you plan to turn objects around that are too big to measure with a 10 to 30 meter tape measure?

Start looking at how 3D scanners work.

neepu:

If building size then aerial photo might do.

Put a wheel on a stick, roll it around the girth to be measured and count revolutions.
The same is used to measure roads and property lines. You can buy them already made.

How big is you object? a foot across? a mile?

regards

Allan

i decide to go this encoders,as study says distance calculation of mouse varied with speed.
There are several encoders availabe in market.
should encoder suit my application for length measurement ie circumference.
Output of encoder can me converted to distance?
you have any idea?

What encoder?
How big the objects to measure?