Tornado/Severe Weather Alram

Hello, I'm new to electronics and micro controllers but I'm no stranger to electricity and home wiring though. Any way I need help with an idea I have. Ok, you see the thing is i'm hard of hearing and I'm unfortunately losing it due to reasons unknown. Also I'll be moving out within a year and will be living alone in a tiny house that I'm designing. If you're unfamiliar with the concept of tiny homes here's a good site to give you an idea of what they are: http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com. Ok now you're probably wondering what exactly it is I'd like to do here. What I want to do is make a system that can check the weather warning data from the National Weather Service and set off an alarm when a life threading situation such a a tornado occurs.

Now some of you are probably wondering why don't I just get a weather radio? Well you see the thing is here, when you're deaf conventional audio alert systems are useless. Yes I have looked around but there's nothing truly useful. What I want the system todo is that when the alarm is triggered i'd like it to turn on the lights in the home and set off a strobe light. Correct me if I'm wrong but is is from my understanding that such a system can be made using a combination of a Arduino, Raspberry PI, and a heavy duty triac board such as this one: (reference to company selling counterfeit board removed).

If my idea makes me a complete idiot I assume this would be a good way to make a home automation system? Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'd start with a weather radio like below ($37) that has a jack to connect external alert devices. They have a plug in strobe light for $20 to plug into the radio.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/58830387/SC-WX67_manual.pdf