total noob, first project waterproof ultrasonic water level detection

Hi all,

I'm a developer but a total noob to IoT/electronics, please help!

I'm looking to create something I can put on the inside of my water tank to monitor the water levels remotely, a colleague has done this and suggested using a JSN SR04T waterproof transducer, along with a WeMos D1 R2.

I notice that the transducer has an operating voltage of 5V yet the D1 operates at 3.3V. Would I be better off going for an Arduino Uno instead as that operates at 5V?

The device itself won't be near a power source or network point, so I'm looking for a board I can run via solar/battery, will also need wifi, can anyone suggest some options?

Not sure if this is too hard for a first project, but looking to start with something I can actually use and benefit from.

Thanks in advance :)

If the sensor operator 5 V like you say, then you either need to use a level shifter to shift the 3.3 V up to 5 V, or switch to the Uno.

The non-waterproof version of this sensor (HC-SR04) has 3.3V versions available. Fair chance the waterproof version does as well.

does anyone have link to 3.3V sensors?

I have just completed such a sensor.

I build sensors, some based on Wemos mini and others based on atmega328 + rfm95.

My tank level sensor is ATmega328 + rfm95 at 3.3V powered by 3xAAA batteries. No solar or WiFi available where the tank is.

I will dig out the link where I purchased the sensor for you.

Here it is.

Here is the last 24 hours data from the sensor. You can see where a bath was run at around 4pm yesterday and where I took a shower at 6am this morning.

I use the USB to power the WeMos with 5v and use 5v from the 5V output of the WeMos to power my JSN SR04T then just bring the signal into a pin on the WeMos.