Total noob, want to make sure my project is doable before I buy components

I have never worked with arduino before but I have some very limited experience with programming (Java). I am starting a project in school where we will have a robot that follows a drawn path (this step will be completed by another member of my group). What I would like to do is have the robot remember this path and recreate it later. The robot will use 2 stepper motors- one for right drive wheel , one for left. Here is the general procedure I am thinking will be used:

while robot is following path:

-read position of motor shaft every x milliseconds (using rotary encoder?) -store these values (in an array?)

time to redraw path:

-convert encoder output to stepper "steps" -send to motor -wait x ms -send next step

So, will this accurately replicate the original path? Will this be too hard for someone with very little programming knowledge to tackle? Will the array be too big to store in onboard memory?

Will I need a separate arduino to control each motor? (we have like 4+ between group members so this won't be a problem if so) Any other general insight is welcome

Have you looked around on the internet at similar projects yet? That's a good starting point. Don't be afraid of reading. The words won't bite, I promise.

fatJim710: So, will this accurately replicate the original path?

Maybe. If you read the encoders accurately and code it right it should at least get close. This is your experiment to find out.

fatJim710: Will this be too hard for someone with very little programming knowledge to tackle?

Depends on how smart you are and how much thought you're willing to put in. For most beginners yeah this is a little steep. You should maybe start out just getting some lights to flash or something and learn how the language works first. What you've described will be impossible if you don't have a decent grasp on how C++ works.