Toy Pinball

Hello all,

I am new to all this and it all came about because my kid got fed up with his Toy Simpson pinball not having the correct sounds, they were just bleeps and rings and also the scoring was rubbish. So I got thinking could I make it better.

I have sorted the sound with wav trigger and it sounds fantastic as all I did was wire the triggers to the board, pop in the SD card with 16 files named 001, 002 etc.

The games has some Leds (12) which are now disconnected and I want to drive them and a LCD display for the scoring. IS this possible from one UNO. I have a LCD shield and UNO and a LOL shield

Would there be enough input pins to pick up 16 switch inputs so that when each switch is pressed a Score will be added to the LCD??

Any help would be great

16 switch inputs

Can be done using only 2 or 3 pins with a parallel to serial shift register (74HC165) or I2C port expander (23017). You could get an I2C LCD. The LCD would use the same pins as the 23017 (sda and scl). So 2 to 4 pins for both the switches and LCD. Another 23017 for the LEDs. 2 pins for all.

I just realized the part number for the port expander was wrong, corrected.

Thanks for the reply, probably forgot to mention that I am new to this. It went over my head. I will try and figure out what you mean. :)

This is the sheild that uses the same chip you mention which I have. This as 5 switches on, could i use them and more

http://www.adafruit.com/products/714

sorry forgot the link

Looks like a pretty cool shield. Should work well for you. They have a nice tutorial as well. You can, theoretically, connect up to 128 devices to the I2C bus as long as each device has a unique address. So adding another expander for more switches or LEDs is possible. The pins of the expanders are bi-directional and can be used as inputs or outputs and can be mixed on the same chip.