Tracking chickens

Hi all,

I'm Ash this is my first post here and I'm looking for some inspiration to put my idea in to motion. I'm a farmer by trade so my technology knowledge is not the best and i'm no expert in what I'm trying to achieve so please bear with me if I don't explain things to well!!

So, I want to track the movement of Chickens in a barn. I plan to try and do this using various sensors around the barn and also attaching some form of tracker to the birds. There are many gps trackers out there specifically for birds but I can't really find much out there to track the movement of a bird in a building on a smaller scale. The building size is 300ft x 60 ft.

I specifically want to track where the bird goes within the barn, how often it moves, how often it sits still and if possible how often it goes to to feed or drink.

I'm sure this possible I just don't know how to achieve it so any input is greatly appreciated.

Even tracking one chicken indoors is an extremely difficult task. GPS usually doesn't work indoors.

Your only viable option is one or more wide angle video cameras that could see some sort of distinguishing tag, combined with image processing on a PC.

While I don’t have a solution, a couple of things do come to mind from your comments - gps tends to have a margin of error of something like 30 feet depending so that may not give you the resolution you want. Also, if your barn has a metal roof, you are going to have real problems with any GPS signals getting through correctly. Perhaps RFID tags of some sort with multiple sensors located around the barn to identify which area they are in could work?

Thanks for your replies.

I'm quite sure gps is not an option. We do have metal roofs and we also need to track much more accurately that 30 foot.