Tracking/Replicating a 16 bit PWM wave

Hello all,
I've got very little experience with the arduino, and I've got a project where I want to read in an incoming 16 bit PWM wave, track it, and then replicate it on an output pin. I think the answer lies in the input capture and output compare registers, but I'm not sure. They do have the bit resolution that I need. I also wrote a function that outputs a 16 bit PWM value on pins 9 and 10 (as apposed to the default 8 bits). What I'm not sure on, is if there is a way to effectively track the wave and duplicate it on an output pin. A hardware solution would be to just use an XOR gate and have one the inputs be low and the other be the PWM wave. I'm curious though if I can also implement this in software.

I don't see the need for the XOR gate, or any other hardware, if you don't want to modify the given PWM signal.

For tracking the signal an external interrupt can be used, that replicates the signal changes on some output pin.

I think you shuld to explain what you're trying to accomplish.... If you've got a PWM pulse train why do you need to "replicate" it?

What I'm not sure on, is if there is a way to effectively track the wave and duplicate it on an output pin.

Apparently, you've already got it on an output pin. And your software obviously "knows" the PWM value already.

A hardware solution would be to just use an XOR gate and have one the inputs be low and the other be the PWM wave.

If you want a hardware buffer, yes use a buffer (or a gate as a buffer). You don't need a micorocontroller & software for that...

I think you shuld to explain what you're trying to accomplish.... If you've got a PWM pulse train why do you need to "replicate" it?