Trail Capable Mobility Vehicle

I’ve built a mobility vehicle utilizing two drive wheels, each with its own motor and brake (photos attached). The throttles are hall-effect “triggers” mounted adjacent to conventional brake levers, so each hand simultaneously controls a throttle and a brake to allow forward motion, skid-steering and braking. While effective, it’s proven too difficult for some to drive and I’d like to convert it to joystick control. Several people have suggested that I look into controlling it with an Arduino. I have little experience with electronics, and none whatsoever with Arduinos, so I’m seeking feedback here before investing time and money in that direction.

Apparently there are some issues with using a joystick. The 36v motor controllers are designed for 4v hall effect input, while the 12v linear actuator uses a 10k potentiometer. Furthermore, apparently what I want the joystick to do is not common… straight forward on the Y-axis would increase the throttle of both motors, but as the joystick is simultaneously moved on the X-axis it would reduce the speed of one or the other motor (skid-steer) while at the same time operating the linear actuator. In other words, motor speed would have to be controlled by both axes. I have a cumbersome mechanical solution that would use the existing hall effect sensors and pot, but I have a feeling an Arduino would make it much easier in the long run.

I’ve tried to find a consultant in northern New England who could spec everything for the conversion, but I haven’t had any luck. If this is a feasible application for an Arduino, is there enough support on this forum to get somebody with my limited knowledge and experience up and running?

Snapshot 2 (3-9-2015 10-23 AM).png

Snapshot 3 (3-9-2015 10-24 AM).png

Snapshot 4 (3-9-2015 10-26 AM).png