Transfer of charge wirelessly via inductive coupling

Hello everybody! I am not very good at understanding some of the advanced topics of electricity, and I think the only way I'll learn is by doing it and just experimenting. My goal here is to efficiently transfer power through coils by using resonance.

Electromagnetic coils I understand, if a magnet is moving near a wire it creates electricity. I've also seen all the videos showing how resonance is all about timing, and others simply telling us what coil to use and how to make it. What I was thinking is that maybe I could use this function: Arduino - Tone to make the arduino act as an oscillator, but I don't know how to apply this to a project.

Basically, can someone guide me towards using an oscillator with a coil, and calculating how a secondary could receive the power from the primary.

Thank you for reading, sorry for the stupidity. I simply do not understand these things! :slight_smile:

What is your goal here?
How much power do you want to transfer?
What will be connected to the secondary coil.
Your questions are too vague to really comment on.

Let take a little orientation on what already exsists in general:

Power transfer by induction is used in a transformer. Here the coils have VERY close magnetic coupling (by the iron core). This is the only way to achieve good efficiency and low voltage drop.

If you want to transfer information only without respect to power or maybe limit the power to fractions of a watt you can layout a coil covering the whole room andhave another coil as the inductive pickup. This is used for listening devices for hearing impaired in theaters for example.

The third way is to modulate a higher frequency carrier to boost range. In this case its a radio.

What you describe sounds a lot like what Tesla tried...