Transistor + MOSFET high side switch

After doing some research, I found the attached schematic to make a high-side switch. However, this was designed for a 12V system, whereas I’m working with 3.3V (or 5V *) voltages. Also, I’ve never used FETs before, so I have a few questions:

a) How do I determine what transistor and P-channel MOSFET I need to look for. I have zero, none, no idea what I need to look for as far as specs.
b) How do I determine what the various resistors need to be? I’m assuming they are related to what the transistor and MOSFET need, but as with point (a), I don’t know how to figure those out.

The idea here is that I will be switching the 3.3V (or 5V *) voltage that feeds the 4-pin connector that goes to the LED string. It’s literally going to act as if it’s a mechanical ON/OFF switch, so no high frequency toggling.

• I’m still trying to determine whether I want to run this system at 3.3V or 5V and I am going to start a different thread with the design and questions.

(Decided to stick with only 5V)

The critical value to look at is the RDS_ON of the FET when it is switched on at your target voltage (VGS). For a 3.3V system you’d be looking at VGS = -3.3V, for 5V VGS = -5V. You want that resistance to be as low as possible to reduce losses.

So you want to be looking for a logic-level P-channel MOSFET (IRLxxxx for example).

As for the NPN, that is much less critical. It’s basically working as a simple inverter - you provide a logic 1 and it switches on connecting the gate of the FET to ground. If you’re switching the same voltages as you’re driving the switching with you don’t really need it, but it’s convenient to keep it as otherwise a logic 1 would turn OFF the circuit rather then ON.